720S - Test drive? | McLarenChat
News
  1. drkillabrew

drkillabrew Rookie

Sep 1, 2019
    Full Name:
    Daniel Woodson
    Hello all, I just recently joined the forum and have learned quite a bit from the many posts I've read. I have been considering buying a late-model 600LT or 720S for several months now, and have my eye on a few select vehicles listed on a few dealers' websites. I had my first opportunity to physically look at a 2018 720S last week. In this case I had been communicating with the dealer via telephone and email for a couple weeks prior to my visit (they are about 3 hours from my home), and they were aware that I was coming in on that particular day, and which specific cars I was interested in. After checking out the vehicles, sitting in them, and going over some basic information, I asked the salesperson to take the 720S for a test drive. After asking for my driver's license (no surprise there), the young fellow disappeared into the office area, later emerging with another young man who I took to be a manager of some sort. This gentlemen asked me a few questions regarding my interest in the 720S and whether I was ready to make a purchase, to which I responded that while I was definitely committed to make a purchase, it would only be after I had a chance to thoroughly evaluate the subject vehicle, and negotiate the best terms. After this, he hemmed and hawed about how they 'have insurance on their salespeople', and that they don't normally allow test drives of the vehicles in inventory, in order to 'keep the miles down', and that if I was really interested, he would allow the sales guy to take me for a spin. He seemed to allude to the idea that this is 'the way things are done' with regard to exotic sports car purchases.